Academic Calendar

 

Fall Semester 2018
Tues, May 1, 2018-Mon, September 3, 2018 Registration for Fall Semester
Monday August 13, 2018 First Day of APPEs
Mon-Thurs, August 27-30, 2018 Orientation
Monday, September 3, 2018 Labor Day-No Classes
Tuesday, September 4, 2018 First Day of Semester
Monday, September 10, 2018 No Classes (Rosh Hashana)
Tuesday, September 11, 2018 No Classes (Rosh Hashana)
Wednesday, September 12, 2018 Classes follow a Monday schedule- Preferably no tests given
Friday, September 14, 2018 PCOA Exam, P3 students
Monday, September 17, 2018 Last Day to Add/ Drop without “W” (P1s & P2s)
Tuesday September 18, 2018 Eve of Yom Kippur, School closes at noon, Preferably No tests given
Wednesday September 19, 2018 No Classes (Yom Kippur)
Thursday, September 20, 2018 Classes follow a Tuesday schedule
Monday, September 24, 2018 No Classes (Sukkot)
Tuesday, September 25, 2018 No Classes (Sukkot)
Monday, October 1, 2018 No Classes (Shmini Atzeret)
Tuesday, October 2, 2018 No Classes (Simchat Torah)
Wednesday, October 3, 2018 Classes follow a Monday schedule
Thursday, October 4, 2018 Classes follow a Tuesday schedule
Friday, October 5, 2018 Study Day, no classes
Mon-Fri, October 8-12, 2018 Exam Period 1
Monday October 29, 2018 Last Day to Drop with “W” (P1s & P2s)
Thursday, November 1, 2018 White Coat Ceremony
Thu-Wed, November 15-21, 2018 Exam Period 2
Thu-Fri, November 22-23 No Classes (Thanksgiving Holiday)
Tuesday, December 4, 2018 Classes follow a Thursday Schedule
Wednesday, December 5, 2018 Classes follow a Monday Schedule
Thursday, December 13, 2018 Last Day of Fall Semester
Friday, December 14, 2018 Study Day, Last Day of APPEs
Mon-Fri, December 17-21, 2018 Final Exams
Spring Semester 2019
January 15, 2019 Last Day of Spring Semester Registration 
Tuesday January 15, 2019 First Day of APPEs
Monday, January 21, 2019 Martin Luther King Day, School Offices Closed
Tuesday, January 22, 2019 First Day of Spring Semester Classes
Friday January 25, 2019 PCOA Exam, P2 students
Tuesday, February 5, 2019 Last Day to Drop without “W”
Monday, February 18, 2019 President’s Day, School Closed
Tue-Mon, February 19-25, 2019 Exam Week 1
Tuesday, February 26, 2019 Classes follow a Monday Schedule
Tuesday, March 19, 2019 Last Day to Drop with “W”
Wednesday, March 20, 2019 Classes follow a Friday Schedule (Purim eve) - Preferably no tests given
Thursday, March 21, 2019 Purim, No Classes 
Friday, March 29, 2019 Study Day, No Classes
Mon-Fri, April 1-5, 2019 Exam Week 2
Tuesday, April 9, 2019 PSSNY Lobby Day
Friday, April 12, 2019 PCOA Exam, P1 students
Friday, April 19, 2019 School closes at noon (Passover)
Mon-Fri, April 22-26, 2019 No Classes - Passover/Spring Break
Friday, May 3, 2019 Study Day
Mon-Fri, May 6-10, 2019 Final Exams
Thursday, May 23, 2019 Graduation Awards Banquet
Friday May 24, 2019 Commencement
Friday May 24, 2019 Last Day of APPEs
Summer Session I 2019
Monday, May 20, 2019 First Day of Classes and of IPPE block 1
Monday, May 27, 2019 No Classes (Memorial Day)
Tuesday May 28, 2019 First Day of APPEs
Monday June 10, 2019 School Closed (Shavuot)
Friday June 21, 2019 Last Day of IPPEs Block 1
Monday, June 24, 2019 Last Day of Summer Session 1 Classes
Summer Session II 2019
Monday June 24, 2019 First Day of IPPEs Block 2
Tuesday, June 25, 2019 First Day of Classes
Thursday, July 4, 2019 No Classes (Independence Day)
Friday July 26, 2019 Last Day of IPPEs Block 2
Tuesday, July 30, 2019 Last Day of Summer Session 2 Classes
August 16, 2019 Last Day of APPEs

* Exam Periods and Associated Study Days Are Subject to Change

NOTE: Each semester consists of 11 full classes weeks (11 each of Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri with conversion days) and 3 examination weeks. Fall semester has 16 calendar weeks containing at least one class or examination day. Spring semester has 15 calendar weeks with at containing one class or examination day. For Carnegie unit compliance classes meet 70 minutes per week for one credit. (38.5 hours for three credit course meeting 140 minutes per week—compare to 37.5 hours [three credits course meeting 50 minutes three times per week for 15 weeks).