Henry Cohen, PharmD, MSc, FCCM, BCPP, BCGP

Dean and Professor

Touro College of Pharmacy

Dean Cohen

Dr. Henry Cohen was a professor of pharmacy practice at the Arnold & Marie Schwartz College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences of Long Island University in Brooklyn, New York for over 23 years before joining TCOP.  He also served as the Chief Pharmacy Officer for the Department of Pharmacy and was the Director of Pharmacy Residency Programs which includes a PGY-1 program and PGY-2 Residency Program in Critical Care at the Kingsbrook Jewish Medical Center. The Pharmacotherapy Department is one of the premier clinical pharmacy programs in NY State. Dr. Cohen is the Past-President of the NY State Council of Health-System Pharmacists.


Dr. Cohen is a pharmacist, and earned a Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy and his Master of Science with a Specialty in Pharmacotherapeutics from the Arnold & Marie Schwartz College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences.  Subsequently, Dr. Cohen earned his post-graduate traditional Doctor of Pharmacy Degree from St. John’s University College of Pharmacy in Jamaica, New York.

Dr. Cohen is a Fellow of The American College of Critical Care Medicine. Dr. Cohen is board certified in psychiatry and geriatrics.

Professional Service

Dr. Cohen is the editor-in-chief of The Journal of Pharmacy Practice.  He also is a well-published author with over 175 peer-reviewed articles, abstracts, and book chapters. Dr. Cohen is the textbook editor and author of the first edition (2015) Casebook in Clinical Pharmacokinetics and Drug Dosing, McGraw-Hill Education. Dr. Cohen has presented over 500 invited lectures on pharmacotherapeutic topics throughout the United States. 

Dr. Cohen was the pharmacist member of the ACCM’s Post-Intensive Care Syndrome Task Force through the completion of its work in 2013, and an author in the sentinel publication entitled “Improving long-term outcomes after discharge from the intensive care unit” in Critical Care Medicine. Dr. Cohen has received 6 Society of Critical Care Medicine Presidential Citations for outstanding contributions to the society.